

American Planning Association California Chapter Northern

News- Events- Jobs- Resources- About- Q

#### About the Awards Program

The purpose of the American Planning Association, California Chapter, Northern Section Awards Program is to encourage quality in planning and increase the public's awareness of the planning profession through recognizing outstanding achievement in the planning field. Each year, the Northern Section bestows Planning Awards to honor the most outstanding efforts in planning in the Section. The program honors innovative plans and projects, distinguished APA members, and lay contributors to planning and achievements of the Northern Section. Often, our Section winners ascend to win awards at the State and National levels!



## Northern Section 2021 Awards announced

**The results are in.** Join us in congratulating the best of Northern California planning! The Awards Gala is tentatively planned for November 2021 – stay tuned for event information

Our jurors were:

- Ozzy Arce, City of Walnut Creek
- Florentina Craciun, City and County of San Francisco
- Amalia Cunningham, AICP, Contra Costa County
- Eri Suzuki, SiteLab
- Aaron Welch, Aaron Welch Planning

And the winners are:

#### **Academic Award**

# Award of Excellence: Alum Rock Avenue Community Assessment, San Jose State University Master of Urban Planning Program

• Team: Graduate Students in the San Jose State University Masters of Urban Planning Program Capstone Studio: Fall 2019 and Spring 2020

## Award of Merit: Access Denied? Perceptions of new Mobility Services among Disabled People in San Francisco

• Maddy Ruvolo | UCLA Institute of Transportation Studies | UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs | San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency | Senior and Disability Action

## **Best Practices**

## Award of Excellence: Innovation in Oakland

• Team: Darin Ranelletti, City of Oakland | MTC/ABAG, Ada Chan | Urban Planning Partners, Lynette Dias and Meredith Rupp

## Award of Merit: What's behind recent transit ridership trends in the Bay Area?

• Team: UCLA Institute of Transportation Studies, Research team: Brian D. Taylor, FAICP; Evelyn Blumenberg, Jacob L. Wasserman, Mark Garrett, Andrew Schouten, Hannah King, Julene Paul, and Madeline Ruvolo | Metropolitan Transportation Commission, Supervisory staff: Alix Bockelman and Kenneth Folan

#### **Comprehensive Plan – Large Jurisdiction**

## Award of Excellence: Tasman East Specific Plan

• Team: City of Santa Clara | Ensemble/Rethink Development | Related California | Holland Partner Group | Summerhill Apartment Communities | St. Anton Communities | Greystar Development

## **Comprehensive Plan – Small Jurisdiction**

## Award of Merit: City of Gilroy 2040 General Plan and Program Environmental Impact Report

• Team: Mintier Harnish: Jim Harnish and Brenton Gibbons, AICP | City of Gilroy: Stan Ketchum, Julie Wyrick, AICP, Cindy McCormick | EMC Planning Group: Teri Wissler Adam | Hexagon Transportation: Jeff Elia | Applied Development Economics: Doug Svensson

#### **Grassroots Initiative**

#### Award of Excellence: Rebuilding Downtown Santa Clara

• Team: Reclaiming Our Downtown | Santa Clara Parade of Champion | Old Quad Resident Association

# Hard-won Victory

# Award of Excellence: Concord Hills Regional Park Land Use Plan

• Team: East Bay Regional Park District | PlaceWorks, Inc.

#### **Innovation in Green Community Planning**

#### Award of Excellence: Lower Russian River Trail Feasibility Study

• Team: Sonoma County Regional Parks | Alta Planning + Design | W-Trans | Green Valley Consulting Engineers | Miller Pacific Engineering Group | Alta Archaeological Consulting | Peter Baye | Rachel Kamman

#### **Opportunity and Empowerment**

#### Award of Excellence: San Martin Strategic Development Plan and Urban Design Visions

• Team: 12 Graduate and 38 Undergraduate students in CRP 553 and CRP 341 Spring 2020 San Matine studios, instructors Dr. Hemalata C. Dandekar and Dr. Vicente del Rio, City and Regional Planning, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo | Rob Eastwood, Bharat Singh, Michael Meehan, County of Santa Clara, Planning Department

## **Planning for Health**

## Award of Merit: Lillian Commons – Morgan Hill Medical Campus

• Team: EMC Planning Group – Michael Groves, AICP, and Elizabeth King, Principal Planner/Designer

## Public Outreach

#### Award of Excellence: La Honda Public Access Working Group

• Team: Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District | MIG Inc.

## **Transportation Planning**

## Award of Excellence: Redwood City Citywide Transportation Plan (RWCmoves)

• Team: City of Redwood City | Fehr & Peers | CDM Smith | Bottomley Design & Planning | Wendy Silvani Consulting

## Award of Merit: Richmond Ferry to Bridge to Greenway Complete Streets Plan

• Team: City of Richmond | PlaceWorks, Inc. | Toole Design Group | CSW/ST2 Engineering | Bike East Bay

## Urban Design

#### Award of Excellence: Balboa Reservoir Design Standards and Guidelines

• Team: PYATOK architecture + urban design | Van Meter Williams Pollack, LLP, Architecture/Urban Design | GLS Landscape/Architecture

## Award of Merit: Livermore Downtown Core Revitalization

• Team: RRM Design Group | City of Livermore

© APA California Northern Section