Two New Members Join EBRPD Board of Directors


The East Bay Regional Park District started off the year with two new members on its Board of Directors. The directors are publicly elected to serve four-year terms. Each Board Member represents a specific geographic area of the Park District. The District itself comprises all of Alameda and Contra Costa counties.

The two new Board members were sworn in at the first Board meeting of the new year, held January 10, 2017 at Park District headquarters in Oakland. The presiding judge was John Sutter, EBRPD Board member emeritus. Sutter and fellow veteran Board member Doug Siden both retired at the end of the year, with a combined 44 years of service on the Park District board.

Dee Rosario is the new Board member representing Ward Two. Prior to his retirement, Mr. Rosario worked for EBRPD for 37 years as a park ranger, firefighter, fire lieutenant, and as park supervisor of Redwood Regional Park. He has served on the Alameda County Parks, Recreation and Historical Commission; the Board of Directors for the Friends of Sausal Creek; the Regional Parks Association Board of Directors; the Oakland Fire-Safe Council Board; and co-convened for the California Alliance of Retired Americans. Mr. Rosario was born in Oakland and raised in the East Bay; he graduated from Mt. Eden High School in Hayward, earned an associate’s degree from Chabot Community College, and attended California State University, East Bay. Mr. Rosario is married and resides in Oakland.

Dee Rosario represents: most of Oakland, Piedmont, Canyon, Moraga, Orinda, Orinda Village, Rheem Valley, Lafayette, Rossmoor, and part of Walnut Creek. Parks in his ward include: portion of Briones, Anthony Chabot (north of Keller Ave. if extended east), Claremont Canyon, Huckleberry, Leona Open Space, a small portion of Las Trampas, Redwood, Roberts, Sibley, and Temescal. 

Ellen Corbett is the new Board member representing Ward Four. Ms. Corbett was the majority leader of the California State Senate, representing the 10th District. She was first elected to the state Senate in 2006 and reelected in 2010.  Previously she was a member of the California State Assembly (1998 – 2004), a San Leandro City Council Member and Mayor of San Leandro. She has worked as an attorney, community college professor and civic activist.

Ms. Corbett was born in Oakland and her hometown is Hayward. She attended Chabot Community College and California State University, East Bay. She has a bachelor of science degree in political science from UC Davis and a law degree from the McGeorge School of Law at the University of the Pacific.

Ellen Corbett represents: Alameda, a portion of Oakland, part of Hayward, San Leandro, and San Lorenzo. Parks in her ward include: a small portion of Anthony Chabot, Crown Beach, Oyster Bay, and Martin Luther King, Jr., Regional Shoreline.

The 2017 EBRPD Board of Directors officers are:
Beverly Lane, President
Dennis Waespi, Vice-President
Ayn Wieskamp, Treasurer
Ellen Corbett, Secretary*

Whitney Dotson was re-elected as the Board representative for Ward One, which is comprised of Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, El Cerrito, El Sobrante, Kensington, part of Pinole, Richmond and San Pablo.

A seventh seat – for Ward Seven – is temporarily vacant. Director Diane Burgis left upon her election to the Contra Costa County Third Supervisorial District. The Park District Board is currently reviewing applications for the vacancy. Ward 7 generally encompasses the communities of: Antioch, Bay Point, Bethel Island, Brentwood, Byron, Crockett, Discovery Bay, Hercules, Knightsen, Martinez, Mt. View, Oakley, Pacheco, portion of Pinole, Pittsburg, Port Costa, Rodeo, and Vine Hill.

*Updated Jan. 26, 2017. Previously listed Whitney Dotson as secretary.

Isa Polt-Jones
(510) 544-2217