Mayors of East Bay Cities Challenge Residents to Get Outdoors


In a regional move to counter the national epidemic of obesity and related health issues and costs, elected officials are taking the Mayors Trails Challenge to residents of Contra Costa and Alameda counties.

“This is a way to show people that health and wellness can be fun and include outdoor recreation. It’s also a way we can help to address the regional and national issue of obesity,” said East Bay Regional Park District General Manager Robert E. Doyle. “It’s important for the health of our community for people of all ages to get active, and the Park District’s Trails Challenge is an easy way to do it, close to home.”

The Mayors Trails Challenge is a product of the Alameda and Contra Costa Mayors Conferences, brought together by the East Bay Regional Park District which spans both counties. The two Mayors Conferences are challenging each other to get the most participants to register for East Bay Regional Park District’s free Trails Challenge program between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

Now in its 20th year, the East Bay Regional Park District Trails Challenge offers a free, self-paced walking or hiking program featuring trails within the East Bay that comprise some of the most popular walking, hiking, biking or equestrian destinations. Each registered Trails Challenge participant receives a t-shirt and electronic guidebook (computer or mobile application). Trails are rated for easy, moderate or challenging levels of activity. More information is online at

The Contra Costa County Mayors' Conference was founded in 1951 to be an educational forum for local elected officials and a place to network and exchange information, led by the 19 mayors. The cities are Antioch, Lafayette, Pleasant Hill, Brentwood, Martinez, Richmond, Clayton, Moraga, San, Pablo, Concord, Oakley, San Ramon, Danville, Orinda, Walnut Creek, El Cerrito, Pinole, Hercules, and Pittsburg.

The Alameda County Mayors’ Conference was founded in 1954 to maintain a cooperative effort and understanding in matters of mutual interest among the cities in Alameda County. The 14 incorporated cities are Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Leandro, and Union City.

Carolyn Jones
(510) 544-2217